Wallace, Jackson Headline Conerly Trophy Finalists

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — Mississippi quarterback Bo Wallace and Mississippi State offensive lineman Gabe Jackson are two of the 10 finalists for the C Spire Conerly Trophy, which is given to the state's top college football player.

Wallace is trying to become the first player to win the award in back-to-back seasons. Ole Miss quarterback Eli Manning is the only two-time recipient of the award, winning for his performance in his sophomore and senior seasons.

Jackson is one of the Southeastern Conference's top offensive linemen and a coveted NFL prospect.

Also among the finalists: Alcorn State's Arnold Walker, Millsaps' Mike Barthelemy, Jackson State's Clayton Moore, Mississippi College's Jonathan Redd, Belhaven's Matt Hall, Delta State's Ricky Hunt, Southern Mississippi's Khyri Thornton and Mississippi Valley State's Avery Boykin.

The winner will be announced on Dec. 3.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment