New White Stripes Drops 6/19

The White Stripes announce their sixth album, Icky Thump, will be released on Third Man/Warner Bros. Records on June 19th, 2007. Icky Thump was recorded over three weeks in Nashville's Blackbird Studio and is the second longest album of The White Stripes pantheon thus far. The name Icky Thump takes its name from the northern English expression "ecky thump," which is used as an exclamation of surprise.

Beautifully recorded, and the most sonically bombastic record The White Stripes have made, Icky Thump is a modern rock and roll masterpiece. The title track "Icky Thump" will be the first single on the album. "Conquest" is a cover, inspired by Patti Page's version from the 1950s. While "St. Andrew" features the vocals of drummer Meg White, the album also features the band's first 'spoken word' track "Rag And Bone". "I'm Slowly Turning Into You" may be the first song ever written based on a video treatment; this one is inspired by Michel Gondry.

Tracklist for Icky Thump:

1. Icky Thump
2. You Don't Know What Love Is (You Just Do As You're Told)
3. 300 M.P.H. Torrential Outpour Blues
4. Conquest
5. Bone Broke
6. Prickly Thorn, But Sweetly Worn
7. St. Andrew (This Battle Is In The Air)
8. Little Cream Soda
9. Rag And Bone
10. I'm Slowly Turning Into You
11. A Martyr For My Love For You
12. Catch Hell Blues
13. Effect And Cause

The White Stripes will perform at this year's Bonnaroo Music and Arts Festival on June 17th in Manchester, Tennessee.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment