Bulldogs, Rebels, Eagles Make NCAA Baseball Regionals

http://www.hailstate.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=16800&ATCLID=210985787">Mississippi State University (41-16-1) was one of the four SEC teams to earn one of the eight national seeds when the NCAA announced the field of 64 teams. This is the first time the team has been a national seed.

The Bulldogs are the No. 6 seed with fellow SEC teams, No. 1 seed the University of Florida (47-13), No. 4 seed Texas A&M University (41-16) and No. 8 seed Louisiana State University (42-18).

The four national seeds from the http://espn.go.com/college-sports/story/_/page/16baseballsked/2016-ncaa-baseball-tournament-schedule-results">SEC are a record for the NCAA Baseball Tournament. But that’s not the only record the conference made when the field was announced.

A record seven SEC teams will host a regional. Along with the four national seeds, these SEC teams will host a regional: the University of Mississippi (43-17), Vanderbilt University (43-17) and University of South Carolina (42-15).

In the Starkville Regional with MSU is No. 2 seed California State University, Fullerton (35-21), No. 3 seed Louisiana Tech University (40-18) and No. 4 seed Southeast Missouri State University (39-19).

The Bulldogs will open regional play against Southeast Missouri State University at 1:30 p.m. on Friday, June 3, and the game will be on ESPN3. Cal State Fullerton and Louisiana Tech will meet at 6:30 p.m. in the second game.

The losing teams will meet at 1:30 p.m. on Saturday, June 4, in an elimination game. The winners will face off at 6:30 p.m., and the winner of that game plays for the regional title on Sunday, June 5. All regionals are double elimination.

In the http://www.olemisssports.com/sports/m-basebl/spec-rel/053016aaa.html">Oxford Regional, No. 2 seed Tulane University (39-19), No. 3 seed Boston College (31-20) and No. 4 seed University of Utah (25-27) will join the Rebels.

UM opens regional play at 7 p.m. on Friday, June 3, against Utah on ESPN3. The first game of the day is Tulane against Boston College.

While the Rebels and Bulldogs will host a regional, Conference USA Baseball Tournament winner, the http://www.southernmiss.com/sports/m-basebl/spec-rel/053016aab.html">University of Southern Mississippi, will not host a regional. The Golden Eagles instead were placed in the Tallahassee Regional.

Florida State University (37-20) is the No. 1 seed, USM (40-18) is the No. 2 seed, University of South Alabama (40-20) is the No. 3 seed, and Alabama State University (38-15) is the No. 4 seed.

USM will open regional play at 11 a.m. against South Alabama on Friday, May 3. FSU and Alabama State will play in the second game at 5 p.m., and both games will be on ESPN3.

If Mississippi State wins its regional, the team will play the winner of the Lafayette Regional. That regional has No. 1 seed University of Louisiana at Lafayette (41-19), No. 2 seed University of Arizona (38-20), No. 3 seed Sam Houston State University (41-20), and No. 4 seed Princeton University (24-19).

If the Rebels win the Oxford Regional, they will face the winner of the Coral Gables Regional. That regional features University of Miami (Fla.) (45-11) as the No. 1 seed, Florida Atlantic University (38-17) as the No. 2 seed, California State University, Long Beach (36-20) as the No. 3 seed and Stetson University (29-29) as the No. 4 seed.

Miami is the No. 3 seed nationally, along with No. 2 seed University of Louisville (47-12), No. 5 seed Texas Tech University (41-16) and Clemson University (42-18).

If USM advances from the Tallahassee Regional, the team will face the winner of the Gainesville Regional. That regional features No. 1 national seed Florida, No. 2 seed Georgia Institute of Technology (36-23), No. 3 seed University of Connecticut (37-23) and No. 4 seed Bethune-Cookman University (29-25).

The http://www.ncaa.com/interactive-bracket/baseball/d1/2016">Atlantic Coast Conference placed 10 teams in the tournament with the SEC right behind it at seven teams. C-USA and the Pac-12 each placed four teams in the tournament. Eight other conferences placed two to three teams into the tournament.

Winners of the 16 regionals advance to Super Regionals, which will be played from June 10 to June 12. The eight Super Regional winners will meet at the College World Series from June 18 to June 29.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment