All Conference Players at Miss Universities

Now that the college-football regular season has ended, conferences are beginning to honor players that stood out. Millsaps College, Delta State University, Mississippi College, Mississippi State University, the University of Mississippi and the University of Southern Mississippi have released the names of players who received conference recognition.

In the http://www.secsports.com/article/18212197/sec-announces-coaches-all-sec-teams">Southeastern Conference, the Rebels and the Bulldogs were featured lightly. MSU wide receiver http://hailstate.com/news/2016/12/6/football-league-coaches-name-ross-second-team-all-sec.aspx">Fred Ross was named second-team All-SEC, and he is the only Bulldog to make the first or second team.

Rebels tight end http://www.olemisssports.com/sports/m-footbl/spec-rel/120616aab.html">Evan Engram made school history when he became the first player in school history to be named All-SEC four times. Engram earned first-team All-SEC in 2014 and 2016 and second-team All-SEC in 2013 and 2015.

Injured UM quarterback Chad Kelly earned second-team All-SEC. Kicker Gary Wunderlich joined him on the second-team. http://www.olemisssports.com/sports/m-footbl/spec-rel/120516aaf.html">Kelly, Engram and http://hailstate.com/news/2016/12/5/football-fred-ross-accepts-senior-bowl-invite-jamaal-clayborn-to-nflpa-collegiate-bowl.aspx">Ross all were invited to play in the 2017 Senior Bowl, but Kelly won’t play due to his injury.

http://www.southernmiss.com/sports/m-footbl/spec-rel/120616aab.html">Twelve players from Southern Miss earned some type of http://conferenceusa.com/news/2016/12/6/FB_1206161823.aspx">All-Conference USA honors.

Offensive lineman Cameron Tom, defensive lineman Dylan Bradley and defensive back D’Nerius Antoine were named first-team All-CUSA. Running back Ito Smith and kicker Parker Shaunfield earned second-team All-CUSA honors.

CSUA named quarterback Nick Mullens, tight end Julian Allen and wide receiver Allenzae Staggers to honorable mention for offense. Defensive lineman Xavier Thigpen, linebacker Elijah Parker and punter Tyler Sarrazin earned defensive and special team honorable mentions.

Offensive lineman Ty Pollard earned http://conferenceusa.com/news/2016/12/6/FB_1206163929.aspx">C-USA first-team All-Freshman team.

Players from http://www.gostatesmen.com/news/2016/11/16/robinson-roberts-tullo-named-to-all-gsc-football-squad.aspx">Delta State and http://www.gochoctaws.com/news/2016/11/16/FB_AllGSC.aspx">MC earned recognition in the http://www.gscsports.org/news/2016/11/14/FB_1114160228.aspx?path=football">Gulf South Conference. Running back Chris Robinson of DSU and wide receiver Marcel Newsom of MC were named first-team GSC offense. Newsom earned first-team special team honors as a return specialist.

Statesmen offensive tackle George Roberts and linebacker Larry Tullo were named to the second-team All-GSU on offense and defense. Choctaws punter Matthew Turcotte earned second-team All-GSU honors on special teams.

http://gomajors.com/news/2016/11/22/football-bullock-sandoval-foust-and-harris-among-majors-selected-to-all-conference-teams.aspx">Millsaps garnered several players on the http://saa-sports.com/sports/fball/2016-17/releases/20161122gvvy1r">Southern Athletic Association’s end-of-season honors. Offensive lineman Austin Harris, linebacker Hector Sandoval and defensive back Jared Bullock earned first-team All-SAA on offense and defense.

Wide receiver Rashad Sims was the only player the Majors placed on the second-team All-SAA squad. Running back Taz Watson, offensive lineman Bryan Pitman, defensive lineman Jacob Kendall, and defensive backs Benton Brown, Tyrone Howard and Chandler Loy received honorable mention All-SAA.

The SWAC and the American Southwest Conference still haven’t released the names of players who earned all-conference honors.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment