Inauguration Set Thursday for 7 of 8 Mississippi Officials

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — Seven of Mississippi's eight statewide elected officials are preparing to start new terms.

A swearing-in ceremony is being held Thursday afternoon for Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves, Attorney General Jim Hood, Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann, Treasurer Lynn Fitch, Auditor Stacey Pickering, Agriculture Commissioner Cindy Hyde-Smith and Insurance Commissioner Mike Chaney.

The ceremony is taking place in the House chamber.

Gov. Phil Bryant will be inaugurated for his second term Tuesday on the south steps of the Capitol, if the weather cooperates. His inauguration was moved inside because of rain in 2012.

Hood is the only Democrat in statewide office. All others are Republican.

Hood is starting his fourth term.

Hosemann, Pickering and Chaney are starting a third term.

Reeves, Fitch and Hyde-Smith are starting a second term.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment