Jackson Council Seats in Runoffs


Ward 1 Councilman Jeff Weill expressed frustration for having to file a FOIA request for financial information he considers vital to the council.

Most of the races for City Council will require runoff elections on Tuesday, May 19, with the exception of Ward 1, which was uncontested, and Ward 3, where Councilman Kenneth Stokes won a clear majority of the vote.

Runoff candidates in the remaining wards are:

Ward 2: Chokwe Lumumba and Wydett Hawkins
Ward 4: Incumbent Frank Bluntson and William "Bo" Brown
Ward 5: Incumbent Charles Tilllman and Bettye Danger-Cook
Ward 6: Tony Yarber and Joe Lewis


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment