Atlanta's The Close To Release New Album That Packs So Much Southern Heat, It'll Give You A Sun, Bur

Imagine if Sonic Youth's Kim Gordon had married Built To Spill's Doug Martsch instead of Thurston Moore. Now, imagine if Doug and Kim had kids, and those kids started a band. That band would inarguably sound like Atlanta rockers, The Close. All fictional marriages and rock star spawn aside, The Close boasts its very own brand new full length album Sun, Burn (featuring a guest appearance by Ivan Howard of Merge Records' The Rosebuds) to be released this fall on Atlanta label Goodnight Records.

Renowned for its catchy hooks, boy/girl vocals, and intelligent pop sound, The Close's dynamic energy and onstage antics (heartthrob bassist Dustan Nigro has been known to get down to his skivvies!), has earned the band envied slots on shows with indie darlings such as Ted Leo, American Analog Set, Mates of State, The Walkmen, Secret Machines, and Mission of Burma.

Sun, Burn, The Close's third full length and the follow up to last year's It's a Secret To Everybody, takes a close look at the ups and downs of relationships in songs like "If You Run Out", and "Sun Shine", and pays homage to a favorite Grant Park hangout in the track titled "Ria's Bluebird". The album was recorded at Zero Return, and at the band's own Slimmertwin Studios.

The four and a half members of The Close (one drummer tours with the band, one plays on recordings and locally) - Brooks Meeks (guitar, vocals), Theresa Fedor (keyboards, vocals), Keefe Justice (drums), Greg Stevens (drums), and Dustan Nigro (bass) - are no strangers to a rigorous tour schedule, as they have spent the last three years on the road in a van with no air conditioning or heat!

The band will play a CD release party in its home base of Atlanta before it hits the pavement for a fall tour. Dates will be announced shortly.

Sun, Burn Tracklisting:

01. They Get Around
02. Sun, Shine
03. Run Out
04. On The List
05. Old New
06. The John & Donna Thing
07. Cookie Crook
08. The Penny Jar
09. Ria's Bluebird

On The Web:


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment