MoveOn introduces ‘Future Soundtrack for America'

MoveOn.org today announced a new CD put together by John Flansburgh of They Might Be Giants, featuring songs by Blink-182, Bright Eyes, David Byrne, Laura Cantrell, Clem Snide, Death Cab for Cutie, Mike Doughty, The Flaming Lips, Fountains of Wayne, Jimmy Eat World, Ben Kweller, The Long Winters, Nada Surf, OK Go, Old 97's, R.E.M., Sleater-Kinney, They Might Be Giants, Tom Waits, will.i.am of The Black Eyed Peas, and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. In addition, the family of Elliott Smith contributed a mix of "A Distorted Reality Is Now A Necessity To Be Free," a song from Smith's as-yet-unreleased last record, and the first release of new material since his death in late 2003.

The "Future Soundtrack for America" is coming to record stores, but MoveOn, a progressive politics group, is "selling" it in exchange for a contribution to their PAC of $25 or more.

More info here


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment